Daily Archives: 5 December 2006

Sales Assistant – 2 – applying for it

To get a job as a Sales Assistant, usually you can contact the:

  • outlet and ask if they need any staff.
  • headquarter of the brand to enquire about vacancy. All shops have a Supervisor or Branch/Shop Manager. If you are interested in management position, it’s better to apply through HQ for a trainee position than applying through a specific outlet.
  • job agency (duh)

Like other jobs, you can:

  • call during office or opening hours
  • drop in the shop
  • email (some companies have websites)
  • even write but usually people don’t send (snail) mail to apply SA job unless it’s for luxurious brands like LVMH, Gucci, etc

Sometimes if a company or outlet needs to hire staff, there would be a notice plastered on the wall/cashier/glass door at the entrance. However, don’t be discouraged if there’s no notice on display. Some companies do keep applications for the future or emergency.

Sales Assistant – 1 – skills needed

A lot of people think (on the field) Sales is harder than (insite) Sales. Onsite means it needs you to travel around which maybe sheltered by a building or not (think discussing deals in a open air mamak stall). Insite or retail is based on shops and shopping malls where you work under a building. Both have their benefits and disadvantages.

I’m going to disclose another part of the working hours as a Sales Assistant for fashion retail outlets which I hadn’t blogged before. As I add more tips and tricks, I’ll backtrack the links.

Most of the requirements for a Sales Assistant (SA or Sales Ass ;)) are:

  • good communication skills with staffs and customers (preferably in Bahasa Malaysia, English and a local dialect). You’ll meet some difficult or irritating customers
  • after PMR/SPM/STPM although some companies prefer their staffs with Diploma
  • polite, helpful, courteous manner
  • enjoy working with people (or animals if you work for a petshop)
  • neat appearance (we can cheat this)
  • able to deal accurately with money (if the job incorporates being a cashier)
  • willing to work as part of a team yet independent
  • forget there’re Public Holiday and weekends

For companies that have lots of stock or big, heavy items, they may require a strong staff. That’s because although there are drivers/office staffs/delivery guy to send and transfer out stock, sometimes you may need to move the stock yourselves – especially when customer requests a different arrangement in a furniture shop. Working in a computer shop also needs lifting CPUs, Servers, big printers, etc.

More often than not, there are several shifts that you can (or cannot) choose. For shopping malls, there are these major shifts:

  • Morning
  • Afternoon
  • Evening – usually for part timers
  • Weekend – usually for part timers

Opening hours for shopping malls are 10am-10pm but some companies like Jusco opens from 10am – 10.30pm. Hypermarkets usually close later than 10.30pm, sometimes up to 11pm if there are customers still hanging around.

Although officially it may state that the closing time is 10pm, some outlets do lower their doors half-way or 3/4 way before 10pm to show that they are going to close soon – and to prevent last minute customers. To the shoppers, they would feel that the SA are a lazy bunch and always thinking of going home early. But bear in mind that most SA start work way earlier than the shoppers start shopping. At the end of the shift, most SA would feel tired, especially those who cannot sit or have lots of brain/physical work.

Besides that, a lot of companies like Giordano, U2, MNG, PDI allow 1 day off if you work 7-8hrs daily in a week. Some companies require staff to work 42hrs or 44hrs and some even 45hrs per week. However, some brands like Gucci and LV allow 2 days off but you need to work more full shifts (10hrs). That also depends if there are enough staff. If there’s not enough staff in that outlet, you may have to work a whole week scretch without break (off/rest day) and then still work the next week. Don’t even think about applying leave for holiday..

That said, one must be strong and healthy to work as SA. :)

Tagged , ,

Emotional outbursts, courtesty of Jas

I had reached the department store’s storage area for staffs at 11.55pm and when I walked into the department store, I saw Jas & MatureBabyGal sitting facing & were talking with each other. I didn’t walk over to them. I really didn’t want to see Jas anymore than I had to endure till my last day of work under her company.

So I walked straight to my counter at the promotion area. By right, when I wasn’t in at work, 1 of them should be at the promotion counter. They are the permanent staffs of the company in this department store. They should be more responsible of their counters. Since their company joined the fair for a week, they have to manage both counters – original counter and the 1 at the fair/promotion.

After 1 hr +, MatureBabyGal came over and said, “Jas thought you didn’t come to work today ahh… We didn’t see you come in also.”

I asked her, “Then why she (or you) didn’t come out earlier?”

“A lot of customers ma..”

Ha. If Jas really thought that, why didn’t she call my handphone or someone come out to this counter so that there’s at least someone to serve the potential customers? And why after 1hr + only MatureBabyGal came out? Really that many customers? I didn’t even see any customer when I came in!

Monday Dec 4, 2006

Don’t count on anything or anyone today. Do for yourself and forget about promises others have made. You must be careful how you handle others, both professionally and personally. Emotional outbursts can be expected.

 

- Daily Horoscope (Dec 4) for [me]

http://www.astroadvice.com

 

Later, Jas walked over and asked loudly, hands crossed below her chest, “Why didn’t I see you? What time did you come?” She was like accusing me.

“I came in at 12 already ler! I saw you two chatting. Why? I must go to your counter 1st before coming here meh?” I retorted her. “(Since they were soooo busy chatting) I came here directly.”

I was so bored to death. Nobody expressed interest in having facial. I didn’t ask every passerbys like what I did on my 1st day. Besides, we didn’t have any brochures left to pass.

So I walked around the promotion area and chatted with 1 of the part timers for another skin care brand. That was when Jas came out and shrieked from far, “WHAT ARE YOU DOING THERE? SO FREE WALKING AROUND CHIT CHATTING AR? WHEN MANAGER COME, WHO IN CHARGE OF THE COUNTER HAR? HIRE PART TIME FOR WHAT? WALK AROUND AR?”

Actually I wasn’t sure she shouted all these but I heard some of the words.

Of course, she was shouting in Cantonese.

So I walked back to my counter. Actually the distance between our counters in the promotion area is about 10 steps.

“SO DARING WALK AROUND HAR?! TODAY IS NOT SATURDAY SUNDAY ARH. TODAY IS WORKING DAY AH. MY MANAGER CAN COME ANYTIME!”

I nodded.

“YOU TAKE OUT MORE COTTON PADS. FILL IT UP.”

I saw there were about 5 pieces of cotton pads. Enough for 1 facial. I opened the cupboard to add more cotton pads. There were also some brochures which we displayed on the table but this time, when I reached here, the brochures were kept in the cupboard instead of being displayed. Don’t ask me, I didn’t setup the counter this morning. Either Jas or MatureBabyGal setup since they are working 10-10 this whole promotion duration. I asked her, “These want to put outside or not? When I came, there was nothing of these outside.”

“Put outside. Display for manager to see.”

Har har! Not to show the products to the potential customers but to show to her manager. :)

From that moment onwards, whenever I was bored or felt the hatred brewing for Auntie Jas, I stood where I could see a bit of her counter inside the department store. She had gone over to next 3 counter’s area to chit chat with the other brands’ promoter.

Then I remembered, last weekend, she herself told me that a woman would come over for facial. Then she went back inside. When the woman came to my counter, I had to go inside to get Jas. I couldn’t find her in her counter. MatureBabyGal was with another customer so I didn’t disturb her but looked around for Jas. She was at another brand’s counter, chit chatting with her body’s weight leaned over the glass table.

When I had finished my shift, I went over to her counter.

“Tomorrow you 12 ah!”

“I will come lar. If I don’t come, I’ll call you,” I assured her.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

