Daily Archives: 11 April 2007

Agel

A Uni mate one day called me up and said mysteriously, “Are you at home? I have something to give to you.”

I was thinking and said aloud, “Ar? Wedding invitation?”

“No lar,” some chuckles, “Not so fast yet.”

When she came over, she passed me a white envelope containing a purple VCD titled Agel – The Agel Phenomenon and a small purple packet.

Agel
www.globalagelonline.com/mymillions

“That is to drink. You view the VCD lar, then you let me know.”

And that was all. It was the fastest someone in MLM/DS ever introduced anything to me. There was no pressure except to drink the packet and view the VCD. It was certainly better than listening to a speaker preaching about getting financial freedom and doing whatever you want in a hall full of people who either whoreship worship or disbelief the speaker.

The Video contained a smooth voice tone and shaved head (Eric) praising about:

  • this product and company
  • how you can make money (2 downlines – also known as the Binary Line)
  • the super power of multi vitamins in a drink for the fast and furious people like you and me.

Watch the Agel Phenomenon DVD – Eric Worre explains the Agel Business opportunity – “It will take 2 to 5 mins to download 40MB file” *Currency is in USD$’s on DVD
Broadband Version

Then I searched Google for Agel and here’s what I found:

The Agel EXO tastes extremely sweet and it’s in thick liquid form – you can mix it with water. It has rare and exotic fruits and plant extracts.

Agel EXO

Ingredients:

Blueberry, Dark Grape, Cranberry, Bilberry, Aronia, Pomegranate, Aloe Vera, Noni, Para Guava, Acerola, Wolfberry, Açai, Ashwaganda, Rooibos

911 Health Shop -Agel EXO Gelceutical by Agel – Box of 30 Packets

Is it a good business and beneficial health drink with so much sweetener?

Interview for S&M Executive

Position: Sales & Marketing Executive
Field: Real estate, sales
Industry: Real estate
Location: In an office full of Agong, Permaisuri pictures and flags. Surprisingly boring and traditional deco for a company that develops modern apartments & projects.

If you are looking for S&M as in Sado & Masochism, then you can skip this post :)

Pre-interview

I applied a job where I didn’t match these requirements just to try my luck:

  • Possess a recognized Certificate / Diploma in Marketing / Business Administration or other related discipline. (Degree is in Computer Science)
  • Minimum 2 years working experience with property development companies. (None)
  • Proficient in Mandarin. (Can guess what other people mean…)
  • Possess own transport. (Would get a car after hired)

Surprisingly, I was called for interview!

In the interview room, the interviewer only read my resume and his company’s application form. Why don’t these people who need to interview and hire staff read and cross check requirements before calling people for interview? But the company is probably thinking, “Why don’t people read the requirement and then only apply if it matches?!”

As I was going up in the lift, 2 Malay man joined me. 1 of them was holding an envelope. Since I came into the lift first and punched the floor, they got in and stood there.

1 of the more friendly man turned to me, “You are going to [this real estate co]?”

“Yes,” I nodded.

“Oh you are working there?”

“I’m coming for interview,” I smiled almost sheepishly.

“Oh, good luck!” He smiled widely. “You’ll get it!”

Inside the office, they were brought to another room.

Interview 

The interviewer said as a matter of fact, “You don’t have experience in property.”

“No I don’t but I’m willing to learn.”

“What is your salary for other jobs? Why did you put P&C? This is the 1st time I see people putting this,” he said.

“I cannot disclose my previous salary but I can give you the range. It’s private between me and my companies.”

He shook his head, “I don’t see why you should be so private. I have a problem with that.”

“I’m sure you are not willing to let me know the salary I would be getting either until I am hired.”

He shook his head again, “No.”

No? As in “No, I am willing to let you know our company’s salary and commission to you” or “No, I am not willing to let you know our company’s salary until you disclose yours”?

He continued, “I am worried that you may not agree with what we are offering because we cannot give what you are expecting since you don’t have experience in this. Else, no point.”

I already stated my expected range of salary – in my resume and application form.

“Why do you need to know my previous jobs salaries? To adjust what the company is going to give me?”

“No,” he shook his head. “We don’t do that. But I need to know whether you would be comfortable with what we are offering.”

I thought – then why not disclose what you can offer me and then I’ll let you know how I feel about it?

I could’ve just ended the interview then but I wanted to know more so I asked more questions than he asked me.

“What is this job about?” I asked him. The job description was really simple in the job search portal.

“It’s Sales & Marketing Exec.”

Duh. I also knew that. In the company’s application form, there was a column for position applied for, which I wrote ‘Sales & Marketing Exec’ too.

As I stared at his (oh-so lack of) response, he added, “You deal with customers in selling the product. It’s not that easy, not like just selling clothes,” he waved his hand dismissedly.

Irked at his offhand remark about selling clothes are easy but property is not – as if property is so high class, I said, “I think selling a product is not that simple. You need to know what the product is made of, its uses. If customers come in with what they want in mind already, then we can suggest what to recommend to them. If a customer is unsure, then we need to find out what they are looking for. We can’t just push whatever products to them.”

He nodded.

“Does this position need to deal with the media for promotion?” I asked.

He looked floored. “No. You deal with the customers, front line.”

“Is there any liasing with Showroom Assistants?”

He looked even more floored. He answered, deadpan, “We don’t have Showroom Assistant.”

“So this job is more to sales than marketing,” I deducted.

“Yes. The marketing is you tell the team what to improve.”

Ha ha. Then my job title can also be Manager when I was a Sales Assistant because I managed my counter :p

Since interviewers could ask us (potential employees) about “Where do you see yourself in 5 years?”, I asked him, “Where do you see this company in 5 years?”

He was like, zonked out, “Usually we only get this question when we are interviewing CEO.”

“There’s always the first for everything.” :D

“We would be expanding, expanding very fast. Our company is bigger and better (something like this) than other companies here.”

“Are the people working here happy?”

“We are. Of course.” He didn’t say it in a happy upbeat tone.

Post interview 

As I crossed the road to the other side, a car slid by. It slowed down at the corner and the driver asked, “How was the interview?”

It was the 2 men earlier :)

“I’m not sure..”

“Don’t worry! You’ll get it!”

“Thank you!!”

What a nice man. Such positive vibes from stranger.

Another thing that came out of this interview was I rediscovered Masjid India :D

A lot of people had been there buying sari, colourful bangles and earrings.. I was looking for pure blood red ribbon with more than 1″ width and found several shops selling ribbons! XD

Protected: Back to previous company – hired!

This content is password protected. To view it please enter your password below:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

