Multiple Job Offers

Journal A Day – How To Generate Multiple Job Offers:

Your value in the market often come ups when an employer acquires you’ve been offered a job by someone else.

Number one, an employer doesn’t want to lose the selection of the crop to another organisation. Sec, if an employer has been considering you, but waiting to see if perhaps someone better will come uped along, the recognition that you’re about to get together another organisation may spur him or her to brand you an offer now. And third, competition tends to loose an employer’s pocketbook twines: if you have another job offer, there’s a better opportunity for you to negociate a higher wage with someone else.

This is certainly true. 1 of my ex-colleagues, Mermaid, resigned a job and was scheduled to work in another company. During the notice period, she applied another job within that current company. Due to the offer from another company came earlier than the other job at the same company, she jumped to the new company. When the manager for the now ex-company called her up for the offer, she was given the same salary as the then job.

wwwork! Multiple Job Offers:

Tell the hiring managers that you need more time to consider the offer. Multiple offers or not, it’s always a good rule to follow. Companies don’t expect you to say yes or no right away, and if they have a strict “now or never attitude”, then best beware. If they really want you, they can stand to wait a few days. With some time dedicated to assessing your options, you should be confident that you can make an informed choice.

California Alumni – The Seven Steps to a Better Job:

When David got a voice mail offering him a position–a job upgrading an East Bay private school’s fundraising operation, I told him: “Don’t negotiate on the spot. Say, ‘I’m pleased you’re offering me the job. Can we set up an appointment to discuss terms in a few days? In the meantime, I’m fortunate enough to have another job offer, so can I speak with a prospective co-worker or two? I want to get a better feel for the position?” That not only made David seem not desperate, which vastly improves his negotiating position, it gave him a chance to get a sense from the coworkers of what’s the most he could reasonably negotiate for, and importantly, have a better idea of whether he wanted the job at all.

Ask the cubicle expat: Help! My editor’s paying my friend more than me!

To ask for more money, couch your request in language like, “You know I love writing for you and think your publication rocks, but I’m in the tough position of being offered twice as much money to write for all my other editors [or clients]. Any chance you can come up in price? I’d like to keep working with you, but I have to wear my business hat, too.” Subtext: Eventually, dear editor, you’re going to lose me if you don’t show me the money.

My question is if the potential employer asks which company, job description and salary/benefits offered, how to reply? Do you disclose the information?

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

