Daily Archives: 15 December 2006

Benefit Cosmetics

I had the opportunity to play with Benefit Cosmetics – recently launched in Malaysia :)

Some of the – actually all of the write ups about their products are cheesy, not to mention self-praising. If you’ve seen the booklet, you know what I mean.

I like their naming conventions though.

I tried:


lemon-aid

Lemon-aid worked better than boi-ing for me. Some of the dark circles were concealed. However, since I didn’t have much time there, I didn’t set it with loose powder..


boi-ing

Boi-ing didn’t really work for me. Maybe I didn’t apply enough but I could still see my dark circles.


Lyin’ eyes

.. I dabbed a bit onto the small sponge – lots of people had used it before, no telling how many germs there are – and this worked.. though it didn’t totally conceal my dark circles.


dr. feelgood

It’s not sticky. I didn’t try to top up with powder or foundation. Skin feels smooth.

Ways to increase positive exposure at shopping malls

I no longer work as the part timer but there were some things I noticed to get maximum and positive exposure.

People with answers & solutions 

There must be someone, with knowledge to answer customers questions and demonstrate how to use the products as well as sell, at the counter at all times.

If the only person available has to be away for nature calls or emergency, there should be a sign or someone else to replace that person. No matter how good is the product, if the staff is unsure or not available, customer would go to another brand.

Only loyal customers (or desperate) would come back if there isn’t any staff earlier. Customers think, “Fine, if there’s no one to take my orders or serve me, I might as well go to other brands/outlets with service.”

Information / Updates displayed

Humans are such visual creatures. We capture pictures, then text.

Talkers and posters announcing the promotions and sales would attract attention. Not all customers are brave enough to ask the promoters what promotion is available. Of course, the talkers & posters must be eye catching and relevant, positioned at the most visible place – the eye level or higher. No point printing talkers but place them on the back of the products.

Are there enough brochures to pass around? Placing brochures at own counter and cashiers as well as information counters works. While customers are queuing, they fiddle things and look at brochures.

Customers perception on company

Advertisement and marketing do influence your customer base. Brother’s products are strong and reliable yet their products are not as famous as HP and Canon. Your models influence too. A famous person is more likely to pull his or her fans to buy the products as well.

It’s why cosmetics and fashion brands clamour celebrities, especially nominated actors & actresses to wear their products to Awards event. Diehard fans are likely to buy products endorsed by their favourite idols.

    A group of muscular guys together

    While standing and passing brochures to passerbys at the promotion counter, I saw a group of happy-go-lucky muscular guys walking in a group. They looked like they were on holiday here but goes to gym a lot!

    The promoters for the fragrances gawked at them, some with saliva dripping, hips out. :D Guys eyeing guys. 1 of the guys (promoters) even blinked coyly at them as the muscular guys passed by.

    1 of them walked inside the promotion area and picked up a fallen balloon behind my counter. The other guys laughed at his childlish antics, “What are you gonna do with it?”

    “Just play,” he shrugged his shoulders non-chalantly and sauntered over to his gang. He pulled the string holding the balloon and then, a moment later, I saw the balloon was held by another young boy.

    Ah.. carefree guys. Wished I were on holiday travelling with my frens too..

    Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 38 other followers

